ELECTION: Check state, county-by-county results

Comments Off on ELECTION: Check state, county-by-county results

Bay area residents flocked to the polls Tuesday for primary Election Day.

There were a wide variety of races on this primary Election Day, from federal to state races and, of course, county-by-county campaigns.

Check this page often for a roundup of some of the main races in the Bay area and across the state.

8:55 p.m.

Orange-Osceola County State Attorney Jeff Ashton has been defeated by challenger Aramis Ayala in the Democratic primary.

Ayala beat Ashton, 57 percent to 43 percent. Ayala faces only a write-in candidate in November.

Ashton, the incumbent, is best known for unsuccessfully prosecuting Casey Anthony.

8:50 p.m.

Amendment 4 — the Solar Device Tax Exemption, has been approved, according to the Associated Press. The measure was approved by a 73 percent vote. More than 1.8 million voted yes. More Florida state races

8:45 p.m.

Patrick Murphy thanked supporters as he advanced to face Marco Rubio in November. "I know that Florida is ready for a senator that works for them, who is always going to put them first," Murphy said.

Murphy lambasted Rubio’s record in the Senate, particularly his attendance record, which suffered during his presidential run. Murphy also criticized Rubio’s recent statement that it was tough to commit to a six-year Senate term.

"I’ve got two words for you, Senator — I can," Murphy said.

8:30 p.m.

Republican Wayne Liebnitzky defeated Wanda Rentas (68 percent to 32 percent) to win the District 9 primary. Darren Soto was leading Dena Grayson in the Democratic primary.

In District 10, Democrat Val Demings defeated her closest challenger, Geraldine Thompson, and two others. In District 11, Republican Daniel Webster was leading Justin Grabelle.

Republican David Jolly was the District 13 winner, beating Mark Bircher. The District 16 primary winners were Vern Buchanan (R) and Jan Schneider (D). | More Florida state results

8:05 p.m.

Sen. Marco Rubio is the winner of the Republican primary for his Senate seat, according to the Associated Press. He beat two candidates, including Tampa builder Carlos Beruff. Rubio decided to enter the race after losing the presidential nomination. 

Rubio will face Democrat Patrick Murphy in November. Murphy scored 61 percent of the votes in Tuesday’s primary, with Alan Grayson second at 16 percent.

Meanwhile, in the U.S. House District 13 race, Republican David Jolly defeated challenger Mark Bircher with 75 percent of the vote. Jolly, the incumbent, received more than 40,400 votes. | More Florida state results


In Pinellas County, Jason Latimer, the communications director at the Supervisor of Elections Office, said turnout was about 25 percent at 4 p.m. Turnout had already surpassed voter turnout in the 2012 and 2014 primary elections. | County results page


In Manatee County, Priscilla Trace was declared the winner of the GOP Commission District 1 race, defeating Ron Reagan and Corie Holmes.

Republican Vanessa Baugh won the Commission District 5 decision, beating Kathleeen Grant with 53 percent of the vote.

Supervisor of Elections Mike Bennett said Tuesday afternoon that the 23 percent voter turnout was about what was expected by that hour. He said the office was most impressed with the votes that came in by mail, with over a 50 percent return. | County results page


In Hillsborough County, about 24,000 people had visited the polls by 3 p.m. About 81,800 mail-in votes were submitted. Turnout by Tuesday afternoon had already passed the results in 2012 and 2014. There are about 100,000 more registered voters than in 2012, officials said. | County results page


In Pasco County, Republican Ron Oakley was the Commission District 1 winner, defeating Debbie Wells and Rachel O’Connor. In Commission District 3, Kathryn Starkey beat Randy Evans, with 56 percent of the vote. And in Commission District 5, Republican Jack Mariano garnered 52 percent of the vote for a narrow victory over Chris Cooley.

Gary Joiner won the property appraiser race, with 56 percent of the vote to Ted Schrader’s 44. Debra Roberts won the County Judge Group 4 race, defeating two challengers.

Shirley Anderson, the county’s supervisor of elections, said Tuesday afternoon that everything had gone smoothly. About 28,000 mail-in votes were submitted. | County results page


By Tuesday afternoon, officials predicted turnout would be about 20 percent. No problems were reported. | County results page


In Citrus County, Republican Michael Prendergrast took 53 percent of the vote, defeating Chuck Kanehl (34 percent) and Steven Burch (13 percent).

Republican Jeff Kinnard bested Rhonda Distel in the Commission District 1 race, while Brian Coleman defeated two challengers in the Commission District 5 race.

In the School Board Referendum vote, 55 percent of voters said yes to the measure. By Tuesday afternoon, turnout was what election leaders expected. There were more than 15,000 mail-in votes. | County results page


In Hernando County, Nick Nicholson won the Republican primary for Commission District 1, defeating Michael LaRocca and Joe Swilley. Steve Champion won the Republican primary for Commission District 5, defeating Dave Russell.

Linda Prescott took the School Board District 2 victory, while Gus Guadagnino had a 10 percent lead with 99 percent of the precincts reporting.

Kristie Ruppe cruised to a victory in the County Court Judge primary. | County results page

Bay News 9 – news

August 30, 2016 |

Comments are closed.

Vantage Theme – Powered by WordPress.
Skip to toolbar